Governance Structure

Governance Structure

Our council members are comprised of Government Ministers, senior business leaders, academia and civil society representatives who serve on a 5 yearly basis. We are supported by two committees – an Executive Committee (EXCO) and a Standing Committee (SC), both which serve unique purposes to ensure the smooth facilitation of services.

The HRDC also possesses a Secretariat who provides strategic, technical, administrative and logistical support while assuming responsibility for all fund allocations.

An HRD Provincial Coordination Forum was established to encourage provinces to form their own HRD Councils with the intent to address human resource development at a unique provincial level.

Government, civil society sectors, organised business, professional bodies, higher education institutions, research communities, co-opted members and organised labour are all represented in the Human Resources Development Council.


Comprises of the below tiers

The Plenary

The Technical Working Group (TWG)

The Technical Task Teams (TTT’s)

HRD Provincial Coordinating Forum

The Secretariat

The HRDC’s formal relationships with Provincial Human Resource Development Councils are decided by the Plenary in consultation with the above tiers.

The Deputy President of South Africa along with two deputy chairpersons leads the Plenary. The Chair of the Technical Working Group, appointed by the Deputy President at the inaugural meeting of the Plenary of Council, serves as the first Deputy Chairperson.

The second Deputy Chairperson is selected through a nomination process whereby the Deputy President considers the nominees making the final decision.

The Council

Council Members

Cyril Ramaphosa

Deputy President

Mr Bheki Nthalintshali

Deputy Chair

Ms Nolitha Fakude

Deputy Chair

Bonginkosi Nzimade


Dr Rob Adam

Mr Brian Angus

Des Van Rooyen


Adv Richard Sizani

Dr Dudu Mkhize

Rob Davies


Prof Cheryl de la Rey

Prof Edward Webster

Mr Dennis George

Thembelani Nxesi


Dr Allyson Lawless

Rre. Elijah Litheko

Prof Peliwe Lolwana

Ms Janet Lopes

Mr Mugwena Maluleke

Mr Edward Majadibodu

Jeff Radebe


Susan Shabangu


Lindiwe Zulu


Ms Fezeka Loliwe

Dr Xolani Mkhwanazi

Prof Prins Nevhutalu

Ms Beulah Mosupye

Angie Motshekga


Mr Ravi Naidoo

Faith Muthambi


Mr Sizwe Nxasana

Mildred Oliphant


Naledi Pandor


Ebrahim Patel


Prof Richard Levin

Dr Florus Prinsloo

Adv Rams Ramashia

Mr Bruno Druchen

Dr Ahmed Bawa

Ms Jenna Kyriakides

Mr Thero Setiloane

Ms Happy Mavis Sibande

Mr Narius Moloto

Dr Octovia Mkhabela

Technical Working Group

The Human Resource Development Council of South Africa is supported by a Technical Working Group (TWG), which provides both strategic and technical information and advice to and executes decisions on behalf of the council.

Technical Task Teams (TTT’s) are dispatched as and when necessary to enlist the expertise required to execute the decisions of the council. These teams are accountable to the Technical Working group and cover all areas, but not limited to, the following:

  • Education, training and skills development
  • Research, monitoring and surveillance of labour market trends
  • Communications

There are currently 9 established Technical Task Teams, namely

Provincial Coordinating Forum

Established In July 2011, the Provincial Coordinating Forum aims to ensure the coordination, alignment and integration of the human resource development principles with the Provincial Growth and Development Plans (PGDP). The main area of focus is on human resource and skills development and Local Economic Development Plans. This forum has encouraged provinces to form their own HRD Provincial Councils in the Premiers offices to tackle their unique challenges. Stipulations of the Human Resource Development Strategy ensure quarterly progress reports of urgent provincial HRD goals. These reports serve as valuable information for gaining broader insight and understanding into human resource and skills development across South Africa.