Governance Structure

Governance Structure

Plenary is chaired by the Deputy President of the Republic of South Africa, with two deputy chairpersons (from organised labour and organised business respectively). The chair of the Executive Committee (EXCO) serves as the first deputy chairperson and is appointed by the Deputy President at the inaugural meeting of the Plenary of Council.

The second deputy chairperson is selected through a process whereby Council members submit names to the Secretariat for consideration by the Deputy President within 30 days of the inaugural meeting of the Plenary of Council. The Deputy President announces the appointment of the second deputy chair at the plenary meeting of the Council following its inaugural meeting.

Government, civil society sectors, organised business, professional bodies, higher education institutions, research communities, co-opted members and organised labour are represented in the HRDC.


Comprises of the below tiers

The Plenary

The Executive Committee (EXCO)

The Standing Committee (SCs)

HRD Provincial Coordinating Forum (HRDPCF); and

The Secretariat

The HRDC’s formal relationships with Provincial Human Resource Development Councils shall be decided by the Plenary in consultation with such councils.

The Council

DP Paul Mashatile

Deputy President

Dr Nobuhle Nkabane


Mr Parks Tau


Ms Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams


Dr Leon Schreiber


Ms Siviwe Gwarube


Mr Solly Malatsi


Prof Bonginkosi Emmanuel Nzimande


Mr Mzamo Buthelezi


Ms Riefdah Ajam

Ms Nomakhosazana Meth


Mr. Narius Moloto

Ms Sindisiwe Chikunga


Mr. Bheki Ntshalintshali

Mr Dean Macpherson


Prof. Nkongwane Stoffel Nhlapo

Mr Velinkosi Hlabisa


Ms Maropene Ramokgopa


Prof Marianna Dipiloane Phutsisi

Prof. Sibongile Muthwa

Dr. Duduzile Rosemary Mkhize

Ms Nadia Starr

Dr. Angelique Wildschut

Mr Andile Mabindisa

Prof Somadoda Fikeni

Mr. Bruno Peter Nkosi Druchen

Ms Asanda Luwaca

Ms Azola Lusanda Mayekiso

Mr Sabelo Myeni

Ms. Busisiwe Mavuso

Mr. Mustak Ahmed Ally

Mr Chriso Van Der Rheede

Mr Michael Peter

Ms Sithembiso Dlamini

Mr Gerhard Hattingh

Dr Nolitha Vukuza

Dr Janine Louise Hicks

Ms. Nombulelo Nxesi

Ms. Deborah Yvonne Pelle

The EXCO: The EXCO includes the chairperson (who is the first deputy chairperson of the Council) and 11 other members nominated by the Council. The primary function of EXCO is to oversee and monitor the execution of Council decisions. The EXCO reports to and is directly accountable to the Plenary. The EXCO includes Champions, who are members of Council and will act as a link between Council, Standing Committees and external stakeholders relevant to their work area. The EXCO could also include champions who are respected people from any constituency of Council who have influence, with social standing and have the ability to create buy in to the work of Council. The EXCO also includes a full-time coordinator and scribe from the Secretariat.

Established In July 2011, the Provincial Coordinating Forum aims to ensure the coordination, alignment and integration of the human resource development principles with the Provincial Growth and Development Plans (PGDP). The main area of focus is on human resource and skills development and Local Economic Development Plans. This forum has encouraged provinces to form their own HRD Provincial Councils in the Premiers offices to tackle their unique challenges. Stipulations of the Human Resource Development Strategy ensure quarterly progress reports of urgent provincial HRD goals. These reports serve as valuable information for gaining broader insight and understanding into human resource and skills development across South Africa.